KV News

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: DM Srinagar issues prohibitory orders under Section 144 CrPC

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: DM Srinagar issues prohibitory orders under Section 144 CrPC
Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Declares all Polling Stations in District as ‘No-Smoking Zones’

SRINAGAR: In order to facilitate smooth conduct of electoral process in Srinagar Parliamentary Constituency, and denote the end of campaigning period and start of silence period of campaigning, the District Magistrate (Deputy Commissioner) Srinagar, Dr. Bilal Mohi-Ud-Din Bhat Saturday issued Prohibitory orders under Section 144 CrPC throughout the District.

According to the order issued from the Office of District Magistrate Srinagar, the restrictions have been imposed in District under Section 144 CrPC from 6:00 pm on May 11, 2024 (Saturday) till 6:00pm on May 13, 2024 (Monday) in wake the scheduled Polling in the District and to uphold the sanctity of democratic principles.

The order further reads that there shall be ban on unlawful assembly as per the section 144 of IPC and any procession or rally shall be prohibited to prevent any law and order problem, and no person shall convene, hold, attend, join or address any public meeting or procession with regard to the Elections.

As per the order, the instructions shall be imposed from 6.00pm on May 11(Saturday) till 6.00pm May 13, 2024 (Monday) in the District.

Meanwhile, the DM also declared all Polling Stations in the District as ‘No-Smoking Zones’.

According to the public notice issued by District Magistrate, all the 929 polling stations in respect of eight (08) Assembly segments of Srinagar viz 19-Hazratbal, 20-Khanyar, 21-Habbakadal, 22-LalChowk, 23-Chanapora, 24-Zadibal, 25-Eidgah 26-Central Shalteng of District have been declared as ‘No Smoking Zones’.

It also reads that “No person shall indulge in smoking in the area designated as Polling Stations and violators shall be dealt under the provisions of COTPA (Cigarettes and Other Tobacco Products-2003).

The instructions come as the District is all set to go for Lok Sabha Election-2024 on May 13, 2024 (Monday).




KV News

Kashmir Vision cover all daily updates for the newspaper

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *