KV News

JK will have no representative in Rajya Sabha

JK will have no representative in Rajya Sabha
Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Srinagar: For the third time in the past seven decades, Jammu & Kashmir would be without any representatives in Rajya Sabha from February 15 onwards as all four incumbent members from the Union Territory in the House are completing their term.
Notably, a similar situation had also arisen twice since 1952 when the upper house did not have any representative from Jammu and Kashmir.
According to details, all four RS berths of J&K remained vacant for a period of more than two years between 1994 to 1996 due to absence of Assembly in the erstwhile state of Jammu & Kashmir.
From April 2, 1994 when Ghulam Rasool Matto completed his term, J&K was without representation in the House till November 1996 when four vacancies were filled.
Ghulam Nabi Azad, Sharifuddin Shariq, Saifuddin Soz and Karan Singh were elected as RS members in 1996 when state elections were held after a gap of six years due to militancy.
The erstwhile state’s four RS seats also remained vacant for a brief period in 2008 when J&K came under Governor Rule after PDP withdrew support to Ghulam Nabi Azad-led government.
Meanwhile, all incumbent RS members from J&K will complete their six-year terms between February 10-15.
While the terms of Mir Muhammad Fayaz and Shamsher Singh Manhas will end on February 10, Ghulam Nabi Azad and Nazir Ahmad Laway will complete their tenure on February 15.
Pertinently, J&K has been sending its representatives to Rajya Sabha from 1952 when President of India nominated members from J&K on recommendation of the constituent Assembly.
Till 1967, even Lok Sabha members from J&K were nominated on recommendation of the State government. (KNO)

KV News

Kashmir Vision cover all daily updates for the newspaper

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *