KV News

JK to have no representatives in Rajya Sabha

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Azad, Mir, Laway, Shamsher to complete term next month

Srinagar: With Jammu & Kashmir’s four sitting Rajya Sabha members set to complete their term next month, the Union Territory would remain without representation in the House in absence of a Legislative Assembly.
Notably, all the four Rajya Sabha MPs from J&K would complete their six-year term next.
While Fayaz Ahmad Mir (PDP) and Shamsher Singh Manhas (BJP) would complete their term on February 10, Ghulam Nabi Azad( Congress) and Nazir Ahmad Laway (expelled PDP leader) would hang up their boots on February 15.
Azad, former Chief Minister of J&K, is the leader of the opposition in Rajya Sabha.
While Mir, Singh and Laway were elected as members of the House due to tacit understanding between PDP and BJP before they joined hands to form the government in erstwhile state of J&K, Azad managed to win after getting support from National Conference and Independents.
After Centre abrogated Article 370 and reorganized J&K into two Union Territories in August 2019, their remaining term was protected by “The Jammu & Kashmir Reorganisation Act-2019”.
With this development, Jammu & Kashmir would remain without representation in Rajya Sabha until Assembly elections are held.
“The electoral college for these four Rajya Sabha seats comprises of MLAs of J&K UT Assembly. Since there are no MLAs presently in J&K, these seats would remain vacant. These seats can be filled only after Assembly elections,” an official said.
According to amendments made in ‘the Representation of Peoples Act-1951 in March last year, the electoral college for Rajya Sabha seats of J&K comprises of its MLAs.
Interestingly, the J&K UT Assembly will have 90 MLAs. (KNO)

KV News

Kashmir Vision cover all daily updates for the newspaper

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *