Bilal Ahmad

Municipal Councilors take oath in Sopore

Municipal Councilors take oath in Sopore
Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Sopore: The newly uncontested elected Municipal Councilors for Municipal Council Sopore in north Kashmir’s Baramulla district on Tuesday took the oath at a swearing-in ceremony, held at DakBanglowSopore.
The oath was administered by Additional District Development Commissioner (ADDC) Sopore, Ashiq Hussain Lilly to all the elected members including two women and migrant Pandith of wards of Municipal Council Sopore.
In Sopore town earlier, eight BJP candidates have won uncontested who had filed their nomination papers for eight different wards out of total 21 Municipal wards.
However, 13 wards remained vacant as no candidate filed his or her nominating papers.
Out of eight, seven candidates took oath today.
The electoral officer identified the winning candidates as Saima Begum of ward no. 01, Shams-ud-din Peer of ward no. 02, Javid Ahmad Bhat of ward no. 03, Abida Begum of ward no. 04, Reyaz Ahmad Dar of ward no. 05, Rohit Kumar of ward no. 08, Abdul Ahad Malik of ward no. 17 and Syed Ayoub of ward no. 21.
While congratulating to the elected members, who showed enthusiasm in strengthening the grass root level democracy, the ADDC urged upon them to meet the expectations of people and take development scenario to new heights in the town.
Among others, Executive Officer, Municipal council Sopore Anees Ahmad Choudhary was also present on the occasion.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *